top of page
Search

WEEK 11 REVIEW - GHOST IN THE SHELL (1995)


Japanese manga. Makes about as much sense to me as the brewing process. Or Norfolk. Shame Mark Crilley doesn't follow this account, maybe he could explain.


But after Week 10's incredibly dense Polish offering 'On the Silver Globe', surely anything had to be an easier watch. And it was. Just.


Important to keep it light in the build up, I decided. You can over complicate these so-called fun challenges. BRAPA is inevitably hard work. WWWSI and SiFiPieFi needn't be.


The beer was light anyway. Like being dunked into an ocean and finding a magical kingdom under the sea surrounded like weird gilled creatures. A bit like Norfolk. Just as well it was called Atlantis.


Only ended up drinking this and the middle one. Verdant scare me anyway. The kind of brewery 'beer people' talk about.


'Peche Mel' Very peach. Sweet n sour. Bitter. Battery acid. Took me all film to finish. If I keep telling myself I can become a Belgian beer connoisseur, I can believe it, right? Fake it til you make it, yeah?


This was tonight's pie. Last week taught me that walking into half-term tourist scum-hole York city centre and buying one from a hatch isn't exactly a 'money saving' technique Martin Lewis would approve of. Might get back to Iceland. But for now, I'm sticking to my comfort zone .... Sainsbury's!


Want to meet this week's Space Raider bloke? Spicy, to his friends.



Bogs & Swamps, Phlegm. stink worms? Slimy Boggot. Been to that village in Lincs. Doom Bar, Bateman's XB or a pint of the local slop surrounded my miserable diners. "It's only in cos there's too much allocation but not enough good pubs to fill it!" cries Axholme Rob, probably. Nice chap.


To keep the 'light' theme going, I took a break from Uncle Matt's cassette tapes and stuck a bit of Toy Dolls on, Sunderland's finest. How has this 'banger' only had 423 Shazams?


I guess outside of their excellent Nellie the Elephant, no one has really heard of them! Shame though.


Getting in the mood now, excuse my Mr Motivator short shorts and weird spacey (not Kevin, obvs) evening wear.

Time to go through for the film but flip me, it turns out 'Ghost in the Shell' is a franchise with spin offs and remakes galore.


My gravy (even the congealed remnants, no Sam Allardyce wouldn't have been happy) was almost fricking cold by the time I finally selected the 'correct' film.


So yeah, can't say I fully enjoyed it, can't say it made total sense, but the guy who assisted the main female character who was half Arnie, half Nigel Pearson, was strangely a guy I rooted for ..... possibly cos he cracked the cans which you don't often get in this genre .....


The film had lots of high reaching themes like government mistrust and what it means to be human and think for yourself, and stuff I really don't want to have to think about when I'm doing ESCAPISM!


And it offered an unrealistic look into what life will be like in 2029, I hope not anyway cos I still won't have ticked Somerset by then.


I promise, there are loads of populist escapist box office nonsense in this top 100, but the random number generator seems hellbent on picking me the obscure, difficult and harrowing.


Maybe Week 12 will deliver? We'll see. As I replicate tonight's food, but maybe with Pickled Onion Space Raiders. Keep forgetting I have those dreadful onion rings to finish too!


Thanks for reading, Si

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page