top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

WEEK 1 - BONE TOMAHAWK

Updated: Nov 11, 2020

8pm, Sunday 31st May, and I was all ready for the first week of this #WWWSI extravaganza.


'Twas a much later start than I'd intended, as Sister BRAPA Skyped me just at the crucial moment, and wondered why I was wearing a silly hat, eating Wotsits and pouring myself a large glass of red wine!


I'd rolled '4' meaning I'd 'HAVE' to eat four packets of Wotsits whilst watching the film.


Tonight's wine was called Porcupine Ridge from South Africa, a Shiraz at 14.5%, probably lively & fruity but I'm no more a wine connoisseur than a beer one, but it didn't take long to start going to my head. I've written it down so I know not to order it again!





Bit of a relief that the wine had me 'comfortably numb' in the early stages, as Bone Tomahawk was shocking from the first scene, with a close up of a throat ripping scene (accompanied by a loud buzzing of flies in the background!)


It was a quality film though, it had heart and was long enough for them to develop the characters so you semi-cared about them. Of course, we all knew we'd end up with a good slice of gruesome gore, particularly in the cave at the end when Kurt Russell and the gang caught up with the cannibalistic tribe who'd kidnapped some of the villagers early doors.


It had some good moments of humour too, and my favourite bit in all Westerns, the scene in the bar, which had so few patrons in at last orders, social distancing would have been wholly achievable without resorting to crazy measures and beer gardens, not that you get many beer gardens in Westerns but that's not the point.


Definitely recommend Bone Tomahawk, and if there really are 23/24 better Westerns, I'm very much looking forward to seeing them over the coming weeks, months and years.


Personally, drinking all the wine was a mistake as I felt quite ill, and the late start meant not enough recovery time before I had to log on to Work From Home in the morning. I didn't eat enough either, four bags of Wotists is not enough sustenance. Oh well, you live and learn. Week two should see me iron out a few of the cracks.


'Til then, farewell.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page