top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

WEEK 12 - TEARS OF THE BLACK TIGER


"Mad as a bag of spiders" sums it up pretty nicely really. The fact I had to get this second hand on DVD shows what a cult classic it is.


From Thailand, it is shot in a strange technicolour style, subtitles, feels like a parody of both Westerns and their own cinema, is action packed like a Clint Eastwood / Sam Peckinpah style film, but has a very traditional love story running throughout. Really engaging actually, if a bit insane, I'd recommend. Here's some highlights .......




Having a bottle of Singapore craft beer

Hero is called Dum. That can't be normal.

Bit like Grant McCann, only a bit more intense

Yes, he is having a piss. And he's killed shortly after when bloke jumps in through window onto his head.

Anyway, as you know if you've read that before, it isn't all about the film.


We have Wotsits ...... 5 bags of them tonight cos I rolled a 5 on my cheesy dice.




I ate more food than ever before on a #WWWSI night. Being 1st Sept, the birthday of my late Grandma, I always have to eat Fish and Chips or Macaroni Cheese in tribute, the two things we'd have together when she used to come and stay with me. I went for the latter tonight, 'taste the difference'. Not sure i could!



Worried it wouldn't be enough, I got a small loaf and a big packet of sticky ribs just to make sure! Stuffed I was.



Ribs, in a cake tin, a concept

Tastier than it looked

The reason for the ribs, it apparently 'pairs well' with this week's red wine, which I'm selecting by grape variety, alphabetically. This week it was Cabernet Franc. Not widely loved or too common from what my book says .......




But I loved it so much more than that disgusting Turkish stuff I had two weeks back, I was getting into the spirit long before the food was out of the oven or the DVD was in the player! Grandma would've prefered me to drink Gin & Tonic, but that could've been even messier.



Si : the Pete Doherty years

My new amazing Western mixtape, sent to me by a bloke we'll call Matthew to protect his identity, in case you all want one, meant I'd have been quite happy to stay in the kitchen dancing around all night!


TDK tape from 1979, the year of my birth, perfectly chosen.


It starts with the rip-roaring 'The Good, the Bad & the Ugly theme' and there isn't a bad song on it. Love the Bonanza theme, Man Who Shot Liberty Valance by Gene Pitney, that is the film I most want to watch in my list of top 100 Westerns.


Irvin, the 142nd Fastest Gun in the West is Jewish insanity. My friend Tom really must hear it. 'Wanderin' Star by Lee Marvin evokes the BRAPA spirit. Stuff like 'Summer Wine' by Nancy Sinatra and 'North Wind' by Houston Wells are just brilliant. And my ultimate fave, the slightly novelty but great 'Along Came Jones' by the Coasters finishes the album superbly.


With my Dad on holiday from Saturday 19th, no 4pm to the Fox pub in York the following Thursday means a window has opened up to get Week 14 done at last.


See ya then! Si

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page