top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

WEEK 25 (PART 2/2) - SEVEN MEN FROM NOW


Sunday evenings have rarely been better. Off work on the Monday. Suddenly the Antiques Roadshow theme tune seems less threatening.


Add to that my Covid test had just come back negative, L**ds had lost 3-0 to TOWIE F.C. and I'd just completed a Mr Motivator fitness session (gotta keep that tummy flat) and yes, it is fair to say I was in quite a perky mood by 8:30pm when I finally felt hungry enough to get going.


Mr (& Mrs) M keeping me fit! (excuse the blurriness, they move quickly)


#SWABGOALS

So after rushing outside to lick the local tramp in celebration, it was time to begin.


WALTON-ON-THE-MAIZE BASED SNACK


Two bags of Wotsits still to consume, as this was a two parter, so I ate the four bags over two nights which was a lot more manageable.


I must say though, I cannot get over how tidgy they are compared with the giant ones. I think the old adage "once you go giant, you can't go tidgy" must be true. I enjoyed them nevertheless.



PROPER BUFF(ET)


Food wise, we were back to that old classic, the buffet/platter/board of stuff not on a plate which probably is my 'go to' #WWWSI meal of choice.


I stuck some crusty Giraffe bread in the oven (no real giraffes were harmed in the making of this blog) and got all the usual bits together. Again, a point for each item you can correctly identify, please comment below. Or don't.



I made a bit of an effort with the presentation (time is on your side when you don't have to be up early!) so was quite pleased with the outcome.


CHILD OF OUR WINE


The second half of the Monstrell (the brilliantly named Wrongo Dongo) was consumed. Plus a bonus beer this time "after the wine" to see if it made me feel queer. I couldn't hack Boddies again, so stuck an Oakham JHB in the fridge.




Again, the first couple of sips of the wine tasted like paint stripper or some solvent based product, but once I got to eating alongside it, I found it quite a punchy, fruity, big wine (I watched a YouTube video yesterday of three blokes walking around Costco choosing wine, so I might become an expert yet!)


Time to go through for the movie, or film if you are particularly British like me.


IN SEVEN HEAVEN


The new electronic spreadsheet felt wronger than the Wrongo Dongo so I got Daddy Wotsit to print me off a 'revised' copy as I don't own a printer anymore cos I'm a 21st century boy.



Film #89, Seven Men from Now, 100% critic approval rating, slightly less popular with the fans, but more popular. How would it compare to Thursday night's Destry Rides Again?


Time to find out ......



A good film, a solid film, not as good as Destry Rides Again in my opinion, but well worth a watch if you are into that genre.


It stars this dude called Randolph Scott which was originally supposed to be John Wayne, but he was too busy making this thing called 'The Searchers' (am sure it'll never catch on).


Basically, seven men killed his wife when a bank hold-up got more bungled than a bear in Rainbow. He vows to hunt them down and kill them all.


He is hampered when he meets this pathetic couple on a wagon and decides to help them get across the desert. The husband, a sort of wimpy Charlie Higson is particularly pathetic, and the wife is interesting cos the actress Gail Russell was an alcoholic and this her 'comeback' before she died from it couple of years later, so pretty tragic.


The best character is the one played by Lee Marvin of "I was born under a wandrin' star" fame with his green neckerchief surely coloured in by a green Stabilo. He showed he could be a total arse, but is occasionally almost a goodie, and kills most of Randolph's men for him, not that anyone's grateful. Poor bloke.



Bit of an arse, but I liked him

Gail Russell hangs the washing out, but a storm is brewing. Bad move.

Pathetic couple

Lee's round at the bar

Randolph caught between a rock and a hard place

Quite a short film too so when I got round to the Oakham JHB, it had finished so I watched three episodes of Count Duckula. I felt fairly sober so perhaps beer after wine really is the way to go, though I did sleep in til 1pm next day!




TEAM NEWS


Two new followers to swell our ranks to 54 on the eve of the #WWWSI Cup first round draw (see below). Both people I've met in real life, both gorgeous human beings, both from deepest darkest West Yorkshire.


First up, Joanna Miller (#28), Birkenshaw's finest, I worked with her for a number of years, we used to make each other cups of tea, and I can't think of anyone else I had more 'clickage' with in the office. Def consider her friend rather than work colleague, that is rare. Love her, and you will too dear followers.


We also welcome the wonderful Halifax heartthrob, Chris Dyson (#46), who writes a wonderful pub & beer blog, and is such a lovely guy, been to a few pubs with him. Love him, and so will you dear followers.


WWWSI CUP DRAW - ROUND ONE


To add another level of interaction to this unique (weird?) lockdown Twitter account/blog, I've decided to enter all my followers into an FA Cup Style draw. The winner gets a prize. Results are determined by a random dice roll. The number '6' on the dice will be substituted by a '0' to make for more authentic football scores. In the event of a draw, I roll again (i.e. extra time) and again (i.e. penalties). No replays. It's the modern way. Boo.


As I only have 54 followers rather than the 64 required for a cup draw, some of you get byes. Please see below for your fixture, and feel free to comment on your chances of progress!


The six 'televised' ones (in bold) will be done semi-live on Sunday afternoon on a special Twitter video, so watch out for that. We'll review the other results then too.


James Asbery v Donald Murison

Yogi v Dyfed Lloyd Griffiths

Steve Halstead v Citra Mick

Cooking Lager v PourSomeMoreBeer&Wine F.C.

Katie Fuller v Beard Sweater

Liquid Len 'EL' v Eddie Fogden

Chris Dyson v Dave Southworth (Minneapolis Cask)

Matthew Lawrenson v Jack Martin

Si Everitt v Ben Morris

Scott Johnson v James Dunn

About Western Movies F.C. v Pauline Sharp

Chris Baldwin v Brad Wight

Tom Irvin v Reg Veg

Andrew Mackean v Tim Thomas

Joydip Basu v Pub Curmudgeon

Tony Lea v Vaux Wanderer

John Watson v Quosh Alex

Duncan Mackay v Lizzy Andrew

Dave Basic v Trumpton CAMRA F.C.

Pub Ticker v Martin Taylor

Barbara Pierce v Roger Protz

Daddy BRAPA v Joanna Miller


Byes to Round Two - Emily Keith, Ben Bales, Saimon Clark, Ed Wray, DB Beerhound, Matthew Thompson, Christine Andrew, George Poulton, Becca Robertshaw, Ellie Fin.


66 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page