top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

WEEK 32 - MCLINTOCK!



The psychic link between my sister and the #WWWSI me is strong. We don't message each other that often, but when we do, it always coincides with one of these nights. Perhaps we were fellow Cowpokes in a former life?


I used to think it was just because I did these nights on a Thursday (her Friday), and then a Friday (her second Friday), but tonight was a Monday, almost unheard of in #WWWSI past. And she never messages me on a Monday.


But International Women's Day gave her the opportunity to do what she does best, wind up my BRAPA self...... Reasons to be Cheerful? I had none.



Had I rolled one number higher on the Western dice, I'd have loved to be able to tell her I was watching the not at all patronisingly titled 'A Big Hand for the Little Lady'.



But as it was, McLintock! also offered a big hand for a little lady too, across the knee of John Wayne's eponymously titled character.



His sparky ex, who spent the whole film acting like a feisty, wild 'feminist' (Maureen O'Hara in glorious Stabilo green most of the time), before he finally caught up with her, and got her over his knee for a good spanking, as the rest of the town roared with joy and laughter at a 'well deserved comeuppance' for this jumped up little madam. No, Sister BRAPA would NOT be impressed. And Twitter would be pointing out that all Problematic Spankers (I saw them support Cockney Rejects at the O2 in 2012) should be curfewed by 6pm.



'I thought #WWWSI had come to an end?' I hear some of you ask. Well, with a bit of time off work, and no real appetite for a twice weekly helping of pie, Pom Bears and Sci-Fi, it was back to my ole' original spin off.


Besides, it had been a funny couple of days, not particularly inducive to a 'relaxing' break from work. Mad dentists, lying postmen, broken laptops, blowing fuses, updating software and giant indoor ladybirds living off Wotsit dust since the summer all combined to push towards some #WWWSI inspired indulgence.



Even the Wotsits seemed to be on the turn.




Not really, this was environmentally friendly maize packaging in my new alarm clock from North Dorset. I could've eaten them, but instead dissolved them in the sink. Gloopy.


3 bags were what I really rolled.



The wine was Pinot Noir, which must be a famous one cos even Rotherham Dave drinks it, and on Midsomer Murders the previous night, the Elaine Paige character blamed Pinot Noir on making her forget important events. Jeff in my Red Wine book (not to be confused with Kevin or the other dude) had recommended one that was even for sale in Sainsbury's for £7.99. Cheers Jeff for keepin' it real.



I liked it. It tasted of red wine. Can't say fairer than that. Tiny Rebel sent me a weird glass I'd never asked for. Thanks TR! But I'm using it for wine, not your beers. 'Tiny Rebel' was actually my pseudonym on the Sheffield Second Wave Punk circuit 1998-2003.




I did my favourite traditional buffet, though garlic chicken AND garlic bread plus Red Wine made me wonder if this was some subconscious 'two fingers up' to my earlier dentist trauma. As usual, a point if you can correctly name all the items.



And then, on to the film which was what they call a highly enjoyable romp, didn't have a lot of plot, just a series of jolly sequences, a few laughs, exactly what I needed in the circs.


The pub reminded me of the Eagle & Child in Auckley, basic boozer but with a South Yorkshire welcome, homeliness and some serious effort to make it 'enjoyable' for diners. I even recognised some of the ladies.




All in all, tonight was a fine reminder of why #WWWSI has endured through the majority of lockdown.


ANY OTHER BUSINESS


The semi finals of the #WWWSI were surprisingly one sided affairs. Scott Johnson from work & Hunslet fame spanked Poppleton Mackem John Watson 5-0 in his own backyard. Boof!


And Citra Mick, down in Hartley Wintney, North Hants also dished out a spankathon, this time to Glasnevin Beers who'd done well to beat the border security guards just to get out of Dublin. But 4-0. Bosh!


WWWSI fun fact - Did you know nearby Basingstoke was the S&M capital of the UK?


Good luck to both in the final on Sunday, but there can only be one winner. At least I know both personally so can award a trophy in person some time in the future.


And THREE new followers, who I hope will pick up on SiFiPieFri too and follow me there! These are Andy Tinney (#65), a Crawley dude who may have links to Devon (this isn't Crimewatch) as he supports both Plymouth Argyle and some Exeter rugby thing. Then we have Alan (#66), one named like a Brazilian wonderkid. But like all the best people called Alan, he is from Northampton. Wonder if he wants to give me a lift to Old next Autumn? And finally, squad number 67 is GeoGeo who I can't tell you much about, but a BRAPA follower so probably passionate about pubs, and if his real name is Geovanni, then he really might be a (former) Brazilian wonderkid. Welcome all three. We are a happy little community!


Looking at my calendar, I can't see a WWWSI 'gap' likely til about this time in April, so likely #SiFiPieFri all the way. See you on t'other side.





Si





58 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page