top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

WEEK 6 - JEREMIAH JOHNSON

Updated: Nov 11, 2020


In the week that Bristol City sacked Lee Johnson, attentions turned to his namesake Jeremiah, the focus of this week’s Western. Had the jolly little Robins had this guy in charge, their promotion dream may still be alive. A Bear Grylls type mountain man, learning survival in the barren snowy mountains, he was always under threat from American Indians, but would finally win their respect. The real life guy he’s based on may have eaten his victims livers, but this romanticised version didn’t. He’s no Bielsa.


I was dealt an early blow when I rolled a ‘6’ for the Wotsits which by my own stupid rules, meant I’d have to eat six bags of them during the film, a full multipack! There goes my weekly salt content before the week has begun. Chief WWWSI advisor Daddy Wotsit told me to start the first bag whilst I was doing the ‘preparation’. He ain’t as dozy as he looks! I am.


More Wotsits than is really fair

It was a slightly happier story wine wise, our next alphabetical grape offering was Aglianico (Aaahl-yan-eeeko if you want to say it proper-like). This was 13% making it the lightest yet, and it was quite a drinkable medium bodied effort, but with enough of a kick to keep you interested throughout. I was back on the Sunday evening routine, so was hoping the extra 0.5% benefit would be felt the following morning. (It wasn’t).





Food-wise, I went for pizza. Now, I’m sure you like me you find ‘food pairings’ with beer or wine a bit of a stretch, but when my Red Wine book suggested pizza, I thought well I’ve got one in the freezer, as long as it isn’t Four Cheese #NeverForget. It was mushroom Dr Oetker, and just to clarify, I’d only buy these on special offer as they are a bit pricey, but very gorgeous. Thin base pizzas rule over all. If you prefer deep pan or stuffed crust, you are a monster.



Tom Irvin told a joke, El from West Brom replied (without insulting Hull City), and it was finally time to sit down for the film. An hour and a half later than planned! When will I learn I need to start early to aid my recovery hangover time?! Week 6 and still can’t grasp it. Hat on, here we go!



Former Barnsley captain and great great uncle Jack Gittins (not Bulgaria) looks thrilled

Film 54 on the list, and after the dizzying heights of climbing to Number 20 last week, it is quite the game of snakes and ladders this, and don’t ask me how I managed to go down 34 places on a 30 sided dice but it is all legitimate. The wonky approval ratings however meant this film probably belongs nearer the top 25 in truth.



Jeremiah Johnson was such a slow burner of a film, you really could just enjoy the scenery and chill out for the most part. You felt cold and uncomfy watching him traipse around, like a BRAPA day out in Cumbria. You suspect they’d never make such a film in 2020. The action was sporadic, but that suits me, I’m not such a fan of the relentless pace of those ‘Few Dollars More’ types. Like the wine, you’ve gotta breathe!


This was Robert Redford’s second WWWSI appearance, after last week’s Sundance Kid, putting him top of the actor leaderboard. He’s won many plaudits in his career, but I like to think this is his proudest moment. There’s a very famous GIF from this film you’ll know if you’re into your GIFs, otherwise, the whole thing was an unknown quantity.


An old bloke taught JJ how to catch grizzly bears, then he hung out with a bloke who reminded me of friend Mark Bainton who the Indians had buried in the sand, then he married some mute lass and adopted some mute traumatised kid. They weren’t great company but just when they were becoming a bit like a family, the Indians killed them both so JJ got revenge. Then he chilled with Bainton again, then he met up with the old bloke again, didn’t know whether it was March or April, cooked him a rabbit really nicely, and that was it. No bar scenes, but never mind.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS


With the recommencement of BRAPA likely to knock these blogs on the head (yes I know I said that last week), I’m planning on bringing this week’s film forward to Thursday, the only day which really works and gives me any breathing space.


I’ve rolled a lower ‘4’ so we (I) will be watching Film 57 ‘Sergeant Rutledge’, now why do I keep thinking of Wayne Routledge?


Quick word to say how sad I was to hear of the death of Ennio Morricone today. His film scores on things like ‘For a Few Dollars More’ which I mentioned a couple of weeks back are truly sublime, he did the 1978 World Cup music too! I thought that was the Macc Lads? “Argies, Argies, rarrr rarrr rarrr, ey up let's get down t' Waters Green Tavern for some Boddies ya poofs" (or something).


Then I listened to ‘The Devil Went Down to Scunthorpe’ by the Toy Dolls and then Charlie Daniels (not the Bournemouth lad) dropped dead. Oh dear. Tough Monday.


So as the gentle folk of Bristol tear down their statue of Lee Johnson and chuck it in the river, all that remains for me to say is good night, god bless, and may the Westerns be with you.


Si

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page