top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

WWWSI CATCH UP. WEEK 38 - ONE EYED JACKS / WEEK 37 - HONCHO / WEEK 36 - THE GOOD, THE BAD & THE UGLY

Updated: Jan 5, 2023


Time for the final catch up, and the most recent one, on my 43rd birthday in May, was One Eyed Jacks, famous for being the only film that Marlon Brando directed.


With an approval rating of only 56% from the critics but 72% from the audience, you can't say it is universally loved. 105th in the league, worse than Scunthorpe United.


I wasn't at all organised, NOT A WOTSIT in sight, I had ONE bag of mini cheddars in, poor form. My wine was called Porta 6 from Portugal, I loved the label, that's why I bought it. It was a 'blend' of different grapes, I dunno which ones. I used to care, now I don't.


I wore my Poncho I bought off Amazon back in lockdown, partly because on the BBC recently, this outdoors fear expert called Wim Hof who gets celebrities and Lee Mack to jump off bridges and stuff, has EXACTLY the same one! Been on Amazon Wim?




Not sure roasted veggies belong on a platter, I'd had a couple of birthday pints with my sister sat in the rain at York's Golden Ball, and we'd popped into Sainsbury's on the way back, she mentioned these, I said okay. She replied "corrr, you are very easily led". I said 'yes i am'. True story.


It was such a late start, I ended up watching the film over two nights so it lost something of it's 'grippage' as a result.


They say the film was Brando's way of punishing himself, as he punished his main character (him) throughout. Don't ask me what happened, but he was a bit of an arse throughout, especially to women who inexplicably cared about him.


Rewind back to 29th & 31st for my Hallowe'en special, of which I have even fewer memories.


I drank a bottle of the devil's wine, Casillero Del Diablo across two nights. It is from Chile. I ate six packets of out of date Wotsits. On night one, I watched that most famous of Westerns The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, the so called second best western of all time. On night two, I watched a film called Hombre, the so called 92nd Western of all time, this really was Scunthorpe United.


It was a long time ago, maybe some photos will refresh my memory?

















Nope, not ringing any bells!


Oh well, join me next Thu for Week 41 which I'll definitely promise to do a better job of, film will be either The Tall T or The New Land depending on which DVD / Blu-Ray arrives first. Ticking stuff off a list - fun isn't it?


Take care, SimeyPoke

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page