top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

WWWSI - Introduction & 'Rules of the Game'

This interminable lockdown, my failing sanity and an inability to 'get to the pub' at present has led me down this unlikely dusty road, to get me through those dull Sunday evenings with a 'fresh quirky impetus', .... well that's my story and I'm sticking to it.


Coming off the back of #SADCASE (Si's Ale and Dice Cleaning Adventure Social Exclusion) where I chose a different part of my flat to clean whilst drinking an ale, randomly selected by the roll of a dice, #WWWSI (Wine, Westerns, Wotsits, Staying In) is a more indulgent take on my lockdown life.


Westerns, as a film genre, has always appealed to me more than most. There's usually a good bar brawl, there's usually a stranger walking into town who everyone glances distrustfully at, and there's a distinct lack of good toilet facilities. Westerns speaks to me in that regard.


Wine, and it has to be red (never been a fan of white) is an alcoholic drink I find somehow more acceptable when I'm at home! Something about not being able to recapture a proper pint of ale in a proper pint glass that means however flavourful the bottles and cans of craft ale I sample are, they ultimately fall short into desultory disappointment territory! A full bottle of wine in one sitting though, before a working day, not the best idea?


Wotsits. Well, a tasty snack beginning with a W to compliment Westerns and Wine, cheap cheesy and easily available.


The dice roll(s), to add a sense of randomness to an already random evening. One 6-sided dice roll to determine the number of bags of wotists i'll consume during the sitting!


And another roll, this time on a 30-sided dice, to determine which film I'd be watching, for I've devised a list of 100 Westerns, most popular with critics and fans on websites like Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB.


We needed a starting point for our opener though, so luckily my sister's boyfriend Andy had recommended this 'Horror Western' crossover (he loves zombies and stuff), mainly because Kurt Russell has 'an awesome moustache' and it just so happened to be ranked #25 on my list, Bone Tomahawk.


I bought the wine and wotsits in from Sainsbo's, and was all pumped and raring to go on the evening of Sunday 31st May.


Hope you can stand this tension, I'll let you know how it went in part 2 tomorrow . It will get better, trust me!



119 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page