top of page
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

BRAPA .... GLAMOROUS GLAMORGAN PUB KNOCKOUT TROPHY (Part 1/4)

22 pubs visited down in South Wales in early April to celebrate BRAPA's tenth birthday, and what a lovely young fellow he is becoming, all ready for big school next year, don't they grow up quickly?


In a slightly different format, I'm going to use a random number generator to draw the pubs against each other, so 11 'fixtures', and based on my experience of the beer, staff and atmosphere, I'll try and pick a winner for each tie, use a dice if I can't decide, and then somehow, in part 4, try and whittle it down to an overall Glamorgan champion.


Let's get into it with the first three ties tonight. First out of the hat .....


1 Town Hall Square (Cowbridge) v Aneurin Bevan (Birchgrove, Cardiff)



Pre-match entertainment was strong in Cowbridge as I stop to chat to a young lady, thinking that like me she's perplexed as to the whereabouts of the hourly Aberthin-Llantwit Major bus, having seen her on it earlier and being forced to walk back into town when it failed to show. But no, she's a vox-popper and is seeking views on the decision to erect a statue of the good Ian Watkins (H from Steps) in town. I hurriedly escape protesting I'm not qualified enough!


1THS doesn't have the most potent atmos, even the helpful gaffer is absent for long periods, and most people are choosing to enjoy a rare bout of sun in the courtyard. Phone reception is a big problem in Cowbridge as they don't want to build lines for fear of ruining the countryside, a local lady later tells me at the bus stop. Gaffer tells me I have to sit in very specific areas for WiFi coverage. Happily, this leads me to explore the ancient, flimsy floorboarded creaky old building, a lot more exciting than on first viewing. A pale bloke pops his floating head around the corner to agree with my assessment. At least up here I feel safe from vox-poppers, if not ghosts! Half the beers are 'on next', and my Bridgend Pale is a bit too flowery.





Into the second half, had 'Town' done enough? Aneurin Bevan struggles from being a rare and unwise BRAPA 7th pint of the day but I needed a wee stop on the way back into Cardiff from northerly bus routes. A 'Spoons, and my abiding memory is the location. Didsbury-esque. Boxed off in the middle of a traffic island, crossing to reach it after seven pints was 'fun'. A Bevan bevvie of baldies have all made the crossing safely cos their shiny heads reflect off puddles, slowing the traffic. The carpet is a sumptuous 9/10, but in keeping with the theme of the day, strong ales, I'm forced into a 5.8% Conwy because the 3.8% rainbow thing has just gone off. I actually leave it on the bar and have to go back to collect it if you wondered how sober I was! Curry night too, which forces some injury time hunger pangs.



Full time - 1 Town Hall Square 1-1 Aneurin Bevan (1THS wins 5-1 on penalties / dice roll!)


Onto our second fixture of three tonight ......


Coach (Bridgend) v Queen's Vaults (Cardiff)



One of a few times this week where the pub screams 'personality crisis'. You've got a craft ethos failing to quite 'land' due to a rugged unshakable South Wales commitment to the curmudgeonly old boozer. It creates a slight discord. The rush hour busy roadside location does little to help, the bloke opposite me, clad in hi-vis, is struggling, and keeps nodding off at regular intervals! On attempting to find the gents, I see a sign for 'Huw Rinals'. What's that Welsh for? I ponder, before realising 'ohhhh, Urinals, I get it!' The Burning Sky Plateau is as clear and reliable as you'd expect, though the two 6%ers looked more exciting, but I was remaining disciplined after the strong ale themed previous day had left me worse for wear. All in all, not too bad a pub, but it just didn't 'join up' for me.





Bloke in door, perhaps the ref, seems reluctant to let me kick off the second half, but once I'm in, 'pow' well QV must've had the hairdryer treatment at half time because it comes out of the blocks determined to take the game to Coach FC. On the front foot, Hawaiian shirted pissed up pool playing wide men act like it is a Saturday night (it is actually a very wet Wednesday, like Sheffield). Bar scene is heaving but they have the staff to cope. Incredibly Welsh. So focussed. Combines bonkers sports bar with ornate boozer. The cute red booths with screens are welcome solace. Though a pool ball does fly across, nestling right under my chair, an incredible long range strike! £2.50 a pint of Double Dragon, immaculate value for Cardiff City Centre. Paid more than double that in two of tonight's four. In fact, this place reminds me of City Arms before it turned shite and suffered a double relegation. £4.80 in the Coach if you wondered. Excellent display. Could've been horrid in a lesser pub but balance struck perfectly.



Full time - Coach 1-3 Queen's Vaults


And now for our third and final fixture of the day, like MOTD this isn't it but more fun. I'll tackle these as one.


Ieuan ap Iago, Aberdare v Head of Steam, Cardiff





A sell-out crowd greets us at Aberdare's premiere Wetherspoons, it is only an early weekday afternoon, what scenes! I'm stuck right in the middle, not ideal, I'd much rather be on a side or in a corner. At least the two guest ales are thrikers - Old Hooky or Batemans XXXB. Thunderblaster! I go latter. Oof, I can feel it the second it hits my lips. Atoms is febrile now, the playing surface could be a 9/10 if they'd maintained it, bit scruffy, as are the clientele, in a joyful way. "Spoons is a shithole, I wanna go home" chant the visitors. "I'd rather be a Spoonie than a c**t" retort Aberdare. But HoS are back in with "I saw your clientele, on Jeremy Kyle". A zinger! To which the home side chant "where's your famous atmosphere?" They have a point. Very much a winding down to last orders HoS effort. I'm not even sure I'll get let into the ground until I see two hardcore fans nursing long freshly poured Erdingers like lava lamps. Then a curious thing happens. HoS goes up through the gears, Aberdare's suddenly floundering. The Verdant Stout drinks even better than the XXXB. The staff are very smiley considering last orders is imminent. That never happens! And to top it off, two shuffleboarders chuckle and roll their eyes at me in a 'we are shit shuffleboarders' gesture. I respond with a nonchalant shrug to say 'I'm no better'. Incredible comeback from HoS to nick it late on.


Full Time : Ieuan ap Iago 1-2 Head of Steam Cardiff.





So, three teams / pubs through to round two, and we'll have three more fixtures for you tomorrow.


Don't have nightmares, do sleep well.


SimeWatch

116 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page