top of page
  • Writer's pictureSi Everitt

BRAPA .... MONTH END REVIEW : JULY 2023


Made it at last! #MenHaveFeelingsToo #LetItGoSi

Good evening pub fans.


We're reaching the business end of the 2022/23 pub ticking season, August being the last full month with this increasingly moth-eaten crispy damp Good Beer Guide, before our Iron Maiden themed friend arrives in September.


July was a solid if unspectacular month, with 45 new ticks Stabiloed. That brings me above the 58% completion mark, and I've still not attempted Bristol, Orkney OR Walsall. 334 ticks for the year so far, exactly the same number I was at in 2022 on the same date.


The 45 ticks were split across just the four counties, so let's take a brief (hopefully not too boring) look at each, including the best pub visited in each.


West Midlands (7 ticks, 41.5% complete)



I'm rubbish at the West Midlands, and it is a shame, because it has more rewarding old fashioned no nonsense pubs than you'd find in say, Bucks or Beds.


It is so darn expensive to get to, that's my main issue. A York to Birmingham return is about £65 if you are lucky, can probably bring it down to closer £55 by splitting it at Sheffield, but for the sake of a maximum six / seven pubs a day, not sure that is cost effective.


No, I think I'm best booking a few nights away, like if I was going to Devon or Cornwall. Or Somerset or Glos.


Anyway, a seven pub day of the highest order was enjoyed with Daddy BRAPA, Wollaston the best place, and I think my overall favourite pub of a strong trio was the Unicorn.


Mild or Bitter, black pudding and cheese & onion cob - perfecto

Kent (5 ticks, 89.4% complete)



My dream of a 100% Kentish completion this year has evaporated, but I will be back there one final time for a few cheeky ticks. I don't mind too much, they are all getting a bit strung out anyway.


And besides, at my relatively early stage of GBG completion, does it really make sense to chase county completions? I'm beginning to think not.


The whole point of my staying in Rye earlier this month was to attack Kent from the bottom up, but I kept getting distracted by East Sussex. Dymchurch's bonkers hours didn't help, but at least I finally made it to a classic that you just cannot find fault with, well if you survive the walk on that B road .... Red Lion, Snargate.



Lincolnshire (16 ticks, 67% complete)


The apple of my eye at the moment, and I never thought I'd say that! Always tick on the south side of the bridge, we do, we do, we do.


Loving my progress in Lincs, and massive thanks to Daddy BRAPA's chauffeuring expertise. North Lincs finally done, not for long obviously, but I'm enjoying that big swathe of green while I can.


Going to keep on at Lincs, and into the 2024 GBG season too, I feel I'm onto a winner. Threekingham is back open already, just in time for my Christmas special. Might have to attack some of Lincs from a Cambs and Norfolk angle, how mad is that? What a place. Six fingered yella bellied joy.


Many candidates for pub of the month. Special shout outs to Railway Tavern Aby, Clickem Inn Swinhope, King's Head Horncastle and Heneage Arms Hainton, plus a worst pub of the month award for Woolpack Louth for serving two Bateman's terribly and having disinterested staff.


But here's my favourite, the surprisingly lively Rutland Arms, Grimsby.



East Sussex (17 ticks, 60% completion)



I was on about 20% completion not that long ago, so to treble my numbers to 60% is one of my more pleasing achievements of July.


Staying in gorgeous tourist stricken Rye helped, got a few rural bits done, and just need one in both Lewes and Eastbourne. I fancy staying in Brighton or/and Hove for another hol in 2024, so watch this space.


The ale struggled at times in the early July arid climate, remember that? Colin was the only vegetation that was supported. Queen's Head at Icklesham, the Bexhill-on-Sea duo, Brecknock Arms Bells Yew Green and especially the Bull's Head at Boreham Street all deserve positive mentions, but there's only one winner, the majestic Ypres Castle Inn, Rye.


Canny bloke Jeff wrestles with cardboard, because he can

So there we have it. August promises to be more varied. With the football season starting on Saturday, how will that affect BRAPA? Well, we might see a bit less of Daddy BRAPA (boo!) but it might lead to a more varied selection of counties, in fact I predict ticks in SEVEN new counties in August.


I've also got three #ThirstyThursdays pencilled in as I was a bit unlucky/slack on that front in July.


I'd take 45 ticks again as I have zero holidays in Aug, I'm now 137 pubs ahead of my Sept '22 final total, so really need to get that closer to the 200 mark before the 2024 edition hits my doormat in mid September.


See you in pub 2,602 later this week,


Si



207 views2 comments

2 comentários


Martin Taylor
Martin Taylor
31 de jul. de 2023

Mid September ? Mmm

Curtir
Si Everitt
Si Everitt
01 de ago. de 2023
Respondendo a

Ha! Am I being optimistic? 14th Sept would be two weeks before, although we only got it one week before last year so maybe 21st is more realistic ..... though not very privilegey.

Curtir
bottom of page