top of page
Search

WEEK 3 - IKARIE XB-1



From behind the tightly packaged Czech DVD casing came the film I'd been waiting for since I rolled that fateful first dice (not really, it was a random number generator) in #SiFiPieFri history.


It had taken a while to reach York, but all good things come to those who wait (unless you are talking Guinness) and without wishing to sound like a film geek, I was delighted to see I'd been sent the rarer Czech original rather than the USA/UK version with bad dubbing and a dumbed down final scene.


It was, if you like, the Czech cinema equivalent of receiving one of the early print 1974 Good Beer Guides, you know the one they had to hastily edit, because next to the entry for Watney's brewery, it simply said "Bunch of Shit Beer Twats". That's a BRAPA fact. What happened to him?


I just hoped my basic Czech would be suffice (I once went on holiday to Farndale with a Czech dude called Karel who helped me extract a Tick using butter without leaving the teeth in and infecting myself - true story). Or better still, it might have UK subtitles. Now I 'tick' for fun! (haha, sorry).




It had been a particularly intense week Working from Home, with this LIBOR Migration project I don't like to talk about proving so tricky, I did this piece of modern art called "Migration of the Mind" on a piece of kitchen roll.


And this is why Mark Crilley doesn't follow me back

Still, it was Friday, and I could finally relax.


The beer voting had been the most exciting and closely fought yet, here were the runners and riders:



And not one XB in sight #EpicFail

At lunchtime, I put the three beers 'on standby' which I thought were going to make the cut, but then Hobgoblin Gold had a late afternoon surge, the Duvel hanging on to 3rd place by 1% when voting closed at 6:30pm. Wot drama! The Zapato Shoom (which sounded Sci Fi even if it was from Marsden) and the Black Cherry Cream (which my Dad and work chums voted for) both missed the cut too.


I was left with beers at 6%, 7.2% and 8.something % to drink. Never trust the British public! People should've listened to followers like Mark Shirley and Christine Andrew who saw the pitfalls in a rather too sweet, strong, oomphy line up.


Tonight's 'Kitchen Beer', as I popped the much maligned Argentinian delicacy from Fray Bentos in the oven, was a McEwan's Champion, which I last drank on a morale boosting Duncan Mackay secret Zoom call.



Duncan even gets to appear on the cap these days

Mummy Si-Fri and myself had noticed a recent lockdown trend this week. Heinz Baked Beans are putting too much juice per bean ratio in their tins. And the story didn't get any brighter here! Shocking.



On the Pom Bear front, I was delighted to end the unbroken run of sixes by rolling a 2. Phew. And to randomise the flavour to appease loyal follower Tom Irvin, I then assigned each flavour a number (1 & 2 for Ready Salted, 3 & 4 for Salt n Vinegar, 5 & 6 for Cheese and Onion).


I then rolled for each of the two bags, first rolling a 2, and then a 1, which if you are following this, meant it was two packets of Ready Salted I'd be consuming.


Watch this space though on the Pom Bear front, they are just not quite fitting in with the whole SiFiPieFri ethos and I'm going to have to have a difficult conversation with them before next Friday!



I donned my new 'planet earth' bucket hat, my favourite French Connection jacket, Alien tee shirt, put on a bit of Red City Radio's latest album, and was pogoing around the kitchen supping my McEwan's minding my own business ......





.... when my phone rang and Sister SiFri wanted a video call, as we've seen before, she only ever contacts me in the build up to #WWWSI or #SiFiPieFri nights.




Once she'd recovered from the shock of my hat ("you look like an insane version of Bez from the Happy Mondays" she says ..... "insaner, surely?" ), outfit and A PIE IN A TIN, we had a nice 20 minute chat, though it did mean my initial plan of replying to blog comments from Russ and Martin Taylor and giving them a patreon exclusive had to be put on hold.


The oven beeped, so I said farewell, and left her to make the difficult choice between a second gin, or a cup of tea. I'd not yet finished my kitchen beer.


Onto the main action .......





Once I'd figured out the DVD menu, it was on with the action and you'll have to trust me on this but the Pie was very amazing! The beers didn't go too well with the food sadly, note to self it pick a more sessionable line up for week 4.


The film was pretty special. Unique, intelligent, and really well done. For low budget 1963 Czechoslovakia, I didn't even think the special effect were that bad, though my low standards simply mean they have to be more convincing than Button Moon. And luckily their spacecraft wasn't made out of an old Heinz Baked Beans can (I bet back in the Button Moon days, they had the bean to juice ratio set more generously).


So basically, this bloke called Michael is running around going insane, they've been stuck in space for ages and the film really tells of the brutal monotony of what that would be like, presumably a lot more realistically than many modern day equivalents.


There's a close shave with a derelict spaceship, then with a Dark Star (not the brewery sadly), a lass gets pregnant and it's all a bit like "oooh ey up, how will giving birth in space work?" Their loved ones left back on earth are aging quicker than them due to the time difference, which is awkward when the blokes realise their wives will soon look like their mothers. There's no pub of course, but they do have a little party and a dance but the music is dreadful and everyone drinks creamy looking cocktails.


Having a dance with a load of blokes who look vaguely like Kamil Grosicki

One of the highlights was where they discover a Lancastrian pub which had been catapulted into space in 1955

I won't spoil the ending under Basic's Law, but let's just say the chance of them getting back to earth isn't too high so it's a good job they found an alternative.


ANY OTHER BUNNIES?


Our following continues to grow at a modest but steady rate, with the Alien Cup first round draw for mid April still not totally ruled out.


Janet Jackson (presumably the real one) joins us (squad number 33),last seen on Twitter tasting many interesting beers at Cafe Beermoth in Manchester so definitely an ale fan. Even more legendary, Christine Taylor (#34) is a valued addition, Cambridgeshire's best export to Sheffield since Dave Kitson. Probably. And finally, Sir Hobby of Herts (#35) who might like unusual hobbies like this and Hertfordshire, which is a decent combination I guess. Welcome all three. 27 followers needed in 25 days, we can do this!


See you all next Friday for another film, a controversial snack amendment, and a more loved pie! Plus 3 or 4 'interesting beers'.


Have a good week, Si



Beer 2 was a not too ridiculously sweet milk choclate stout from North which was tough going post pie!


With the film only 80 or so mins long, it was off to Belgium via Hungerford Town for the final beer of the night

63 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page