top of page
Search

WEEK 7 - NAUSICAA OF THE VALLEY OF THE WIND


It was time for the penultimate foray into the world of Sci-Fi, Pies and (space)Craft beers on a Friday evening, as the world continues to wake gradually from the lengthiest slumber of like, ever.


Another sign of this awakening was that Sister Sci-Fi was in town for a haircut, and then surprised me by presenting me with a 'pie' for tonight's challenge. Sweet rather the savoury though, something about about Salted Caramel, Biscoffi and veganism.



A lovely thought but I'd still be buying my savoury one. I bought her a packet of bourbon biscuits because I'm all heart. She then further surprised me by asking if I could take her for a first pub experience since 12th April outdoor reopening. I happily obliged by taking her to Marston's jolly rough house, The Mount.


The clientele are more 3D than in 90% of York pubs. No cask, so it was a 61 Deep. Old tanned smokers glared at us. A group of cannabis smoking 16 year olds made a scene, and then a lad we know called Liam popped up with his Dad, who had a bee in his bonnet about the full pedestrianisation of York, which I listened to with a sombre expression.



We made a quick retreat as one of the cannabis yoofs engaged Liam's Dad in conversation, and I said farewell to Sister Sci-Fi as I had a savoury pie to order. Best intro to a SiFiPieFri night so far? I think so.


ITCHING IN THE KITCHEN


Finally, we could begin and I banged in my Deliveroo order as early as I could, 'rested my eyes' for 40 minutes, and tentatively opened Twitter to see what those monsters were telling me to drink this week.




I cracked open the most popular 'Goodbye Gravity', a beer so murky, it must have come from the planet Murk-ury (thanks, I've copyrighted that so don't even think of stealing it).



Time to roll the scampi/bacon fries dice. What with my savoury and sweet pies, I was kind of hoping for a 1. So of course I rolled a 6. Die, die! Subsequent rolls told me it would be an even split, 3 bags of Scampi Fries and 3 of Bacon Fries. May as well grab the whole effin' carrier bag eh?



I cracked open the first bag, and cranked up the music. Where were we up to? Ah yes, track 2 of side B.



I'd barely finished feeling confused by 'The Eggplant that ate Chicago' when I realised our Deliveroo driver Rob was lurking, so I went down to street level to intercept him. "Ey oop, where is yer flat, I didn't 'av a clue" he boomed, much more like a man you'd meet in a Barnsley beer garden than the usual gently polite Eastern Europeans I've so far come to expect from Deliveroo.


My new neighbours chuckled along and wished me a good evening as they were sat outside with a glass of wine enjoying the evening sun, and I returned upstairs, blurry but triumphant.


After doing my first ever Cha Cha On the Moon and wondering where I'd heard the brilliant 'It's Hard to Believe It' before, it was time to crack open the scran.


PIE-STAGGERERERS THEORM



I'd gone for the Lamb, Pea and Mint pie this week, and it was a cracker to rival the Foraging Chick:



I'd gone with curry sauce rather than gravy after last week's onion catastrophe, which of course meant chips rather than mash. As our follower Mark Shirley will confirm, only a lunatic would order curry sauce and mash. Watch this space!


Seriously though, despite a couple of other interesting options on the Devonly Pie menu, I think we might try something else next week. Pie and curry sauce, superb. Chips, again a bit disappointing somehow.


And I didn't get anywhere near the sweet pie after all those fries too, I felt a bit fragile as it was!


GIRLS ON FILM


The film dice roll continued to take us 'up the league table', this week's ranked as 38th best Sci Fi ever. Time to find out if I'd agree with this ranking?



I must admit, my heart sunk last week when I saw I'd be watching another Japanese manga anime style film. But unlike End of Evangelion, this one didn't assume prior knowledge of a long running TV series.


And I enjoyed it a lot more for being able to follow what was quite an intriguing story.


Basically, it is 1,000 years into the future, humanity has stupidly destroyed itself, and insects are the top dogs (so to speak) now, with these giant Trilobite style creatures guarding this ever expanding poisonous jungle, meaning the few humans left have to wear facemasks cos the spores would kill them! In the Valley of the Wind, a 'seaside kingdom' (think Blackpool with a bit more greenery and hope), this princess Nausicaa is the only one who realises maybe if they learn to live alongside the insects, it can save humanity.


Doesn't really work out the superbly, but a bit like Lincoln City, she gives it real plucky good go god bless her lower league cotton socks and had a lovely day out.


It was very well done and told, but this style of film, plus the constant barrage of intense insect rampage and idiot humans was a bit jarring and exhausted me. I can't lie I was kinda relieved when the end credits rolled.


POST MATCH ANALYSIS



The Sleck Dust had been a similar relief of a beer, just a nice clean fresh ale, uncomplicated, just what you want with pie, curry sauce and chips.


The Amity 'Elastic Robot' (pictured above) was great in a very different orangey way, as I retired to the now traditional late night Hungerford Town. We drew 1-1 away to our old Vanarama South rivals Havant & Waterlooville in the 4th game of our new season. We defended like Elastic Robots in the first half but rallied late on. Please tell me you still care!


I also spent a good 35 minutes trying to locate a means to watch our next (and final) SiFiPieFri film, Je T'Aime, Je T'Aime. A 1968 rare French fancy about a bloke who wakes from a coma. I think I've found a way, but it might not be strictly legal!


NOT LONG NOW


So with that magical Monday 17th May pub reopening day drawing ever closer, we are now entering the death throes of my cute little extra curricular lockdown challenges.


Join me next Friday (30th April) for our final #SiFiPieFri although I'm not ruling out continuing to watch (and maybe write about) the Sci Fi films on this list. I may combine it with a pie. Just maybe not alcohol or insane amounts of crisps/snacks! Nice to do something different. Pub Ticking is so all-consuming, you can feel a bit of a one trick pony at times. Neigh.


#WWWSI then returns to get us through the first half of May, so we can sign off Lockdown with a bang! Night 33 will take place on Sunday 2nd May, but very late on, after the Line of Duty finale. We'll then have the Birthday special on either 6th or 7th, before our very last one on Friday 14th unless plans change.


Thank you very much for reading as ever my little aliens,


Si


56 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page